236 0

Over eighty (80) ICT and Telecom experts were honoured at the 9th edition of the Ghana Information Technology and Telecom Awards (GITTA) 2019 which was held at the Movenpick Ambassador hotel on Friday, June 28, 2019.

The event which was themed “Celebrating Innovation and Excellence in the ICT Sector”, attracted key stakeholders in the telecom and information communication technology industry from both Ghana and Nigeria.

Speaking at the event, vice President, Dr. Bawumia who was adjudged Digital Leader of the Year for championing the digital transformation of the Ghanaian economy noted that the benefits of a digitized economy could not be overemphasized as it had the potential of moving the country beyond aid.

The award conferred on the Vice President, was in recognition of his untiring efforts to leverage on technology to improve service delivery in the public sector and to facilitate rapid economic growth.

Dr. Bawumia also lauded Instinct wave, Organizers of the annual event for a great job in honouring organizations and individuals in the Telecom & ICT space within Ghana and beyond. He also commended industry players for their enormous contribution to the economy that has witnessed improvement in public service delivery.

CEO of Instinct Wave, Mr. Akin Naphtal, in his welcome remarks, lauded award winners for their exceptional performance and hardwork.He assured Industry players of a mind blowing 10th edition next year and the years to come.

“I would like to congratulate all award winners and industry players for a good work done, it’s been an amazing nine years journey with you since GITTA started and we couldn’t have come this far without your support and all. We are looking forward to a mind blowing event hopefully next year which marks the 10th edition and we are looking forward to hosting ICT players from other African countries aside Ghana and Nigeria”.

GITTA 2019 witnessed some public and private sector organisations rewarded for their contributions to the public sector reforms. Standard Chartered was named Digital Bank of the Year, Digital Bank Team of the Year and

Best Mobile banking App of the Year respectively for the Bank’s leading role in digitization while Access Bank took home two awards namely; E-Banking Service of the Year, Best Money Transfer Product (Access Africa).

The Driver Vehicle and Licensing Authority (DVLA) took home three awards in recognition for its innovative reforms in application, processing and renewal of driver’s licenses while the Authority’s CEO, Mr Kwasi Agyeman Busia was adjudged the Best Public Sector CEO of the Year for his outstanding contribution to the public sector.

CEO of the National Communications Authority, Joe Anokye, was adjudged the Telecom Regulatory CEO of the Year, Archie Hesse, the CEO of the Ghana Interbank Payment and Settlement System was adjudged Payment Industry Personality of the Year and Mr. Selorm Adadevoh, the CEO of MTN received the Telecom CEO of the Year award.

Minister of Communications, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, was adjudged Industry Personality of the Year, while Ghana Police Service was adjudged the Best Government Use of Social Media for Citizen Engagement, Ghana Community Network Service Limited (GCNet) received an award for being the Best Public Sector e-Solution Provider, the National Cyber Security Centre was adjudged the Best for Excellence in Cyber Security Initiative, Ghana Investment Fund for Electronic Communications (GIFEC) took home the Best Public Sector Institution for Transforming Education through Technology.

Below is list of Award winners:




1 Technology Advance Insurance Company of the Year GLICO LIFE
2 Telecom Solutions Support Company of the Year ATC
3 Emerging E-commerce Initiative Hubtel
4 Mobile VAS Provider of the Year Vocakom
5 Best Mobile Banking App of the Year Standard Chartered
6 Mobile Money Provider of the Year MTN
7 Best Bank Award for Cyber Security Risk Management UMB
8 Telecom Wholesale carrier Vodafone
9 Best Fintech-Bank Collaboration of the Year Zenith Bank
10 Banking Technology Solutions Provider of the Year Inlaks
11 Internet Service Provider of the Year Internet Solutions
12 Enterprise Service Provider of the Year Comsys Ghana
13 Excellence in Promoting Government Digitization Oracle
14 Promoting Sustainable Development in Telecom Sector NCA
15 CSR Company of the Year Vodafone
16 Innovative Product of the Year (Big Time Data Bundle) AirtelTigo
17 Best Prepaid Initiative Zenith Platinum Prepaid MasterCard
18 E-Banking Service of the Year Access Bank
19 IT Support Company Of The Year GCNet
20 Digital Bank of the Year Standard Chartered
21 Customer Experience Award MTN
22 ATC   Tower Company of the Year ATC
23 Fintech Company of the Year Hubtel
24 Software Company of the Year Vocakom
25 Cyber Security Company of the Year e-Crime Bureau
26 Sustainability & Social Impact Award MTN
27 Best Money Transfer Product ( Access Bank
28 Transforming Education Through Technology GIFEC
29 Best Use of ICT in Public Sector Comsys Ghana
30 Telecom Brand of the Year MTN
31 ICT Company Of The Year Comsys
32 Special Recognition for Implementing Mobile Money Interoperability GHipps
33 Excellence in Cyber Security Initiatives National Cyber Security Centre
34 Public Sector e-Solutions Provider of the Year GCNet
35 Best Government Website DVLA
36 Marketing Campaign of the year AirtelTigo
37 IT Consulting Firm of the Year Liranz
38 Telecom Business of the Year Vodafone
39 Managed IT Services Provider of the Year Liranz
40 Best Government Use Of Social Media (Citizen Engagement) Ghana Police
41 IT Team of the Year MTN
42 Digital Bank Team of the Year Standard Chartered
43 Customer Service Team of the Year MTN
44 Project Team of the Year AirtelTigo
45 MobileMoney Team of the Year MTN
46 Best Use of ICT in Public Sector DVLA
47 Supporting Ghana  Digitization  Project Award ORACLE
48 Transforming Education Through Technology GIFEC
49 Mobile Operator of the Year MTN
50 Telecom Hall of Fame AirtelTigo
51 BPO Provider of the Year ISON


1 Tower CEO of the Year Francois Van Zyl
2 Fintech CEO of the Year Alex Bram
CEO, Hubtel
3 Public Sector ICT CEO of the Year Abraham Kofi Asante
4 Telecom Regulatory CEO of the Year Joe Anokye
5 Emerging ICT Driven CEO Benjamin Kwabla Amenumey
Acting CEO, UMB
6 Payment Industry Personality of the Year Archie Hesse
CEO, Ghipss
7 Outstanding Contribution to Public Sector Digitization Award Augustine Blay
Executive Secretary to the Vice President
8 Public Sector IT Man of the Year Kwasi Agyemang Busia
9 CTO of the Year Srabasti Bhattacharjee
CTO, Vodafone
10 CIO of the Year Sylvester Apedoe
11 Outstanding Contribution to Enterprise Sector Angela Mensah-Poku
Head, Enterprise Business Unit & Wholesale
Vodafone Ghana
12 ICT Professional of the Year Joseph Yaw Asumang
Country Manager, Oracle Ghana
13 ICT Woman Of The Year (Public Sector) Matilda Wilson
Head of Technology & Biometrics
National Identification Authority
14 ICT Entrepreneur of the Year Nana Osei Kwasi Afrifa
CEO, Vokacom
15 Woman In Technology Award Funmilayo Lamptey
CEO, Telesol
16 Telecom CEO of the Year Selorm Adadevoh
CEO, MTN Ghana
17 Industry Personality of the Year Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful
Ministry of Communication, Ghana
18 Digital Leader of the Year H.E Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia
The Vice President
Republic Of Ghana

Africa Telecom Infrastructure Provider of the Year

Phone of the Year
Tecno Spark 3

Datacentre Provider of the Year
Medallion Communication

Promoting Telecom Advocacy

Africa Digital Banking of the Year
Standard Chartered Bank

Africa Mobile Operator of the Year
MTN Group

Africa Telecom CEO of the Year
Rob Shuter, President/CEO at MTN Group

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *